A little help, perhaps?

Ever since we got the news that we were pregnant again, the Hubs and I have been in and out of discussion, about whether we should engage a helper or place #AMjr in infant care when I go back into the workforce.

Somehow, we’re just contemplating if #AMjr will be too young to be in ifc? Because we had the luxury of having my mum care for Muttaqin for the first 8 months of his life, we’re not used to the idea of sending his little brother while he’s as young as 3 months.

We’ve weighed the pros and cons of each and definitely, a helper would aid us greatly. An extra pair of hands is what we will need once we’ve got a new member of the family in tow. At this point, we are very far from being able to do ANY cleaning or laundry on weekdays. By the time Muttaqin goes to sleep, both of us will be dead beat!

(Yes, our very active firstborn can really be a handful at times. I guess since he goes to bed between 8.00PM – 8.30PM, he is using up all that reserved energy he has left before he retreats for the day! 🙊)

So, really.. We’re in sort of a dilemma right now, although we have about 4 months left to make a decision. If a helper is our best bet, we’d like for her to come in by December or January. However, even if we were to engage a helper, I would really like for Muttaqin to continue with playgroup. I mean, I’d prefer it if he goes to school to mingle and learn new things.

Looking at his impressive developments since he started school has been a real pleasure, and it has probably been one of the best decisions we have ever made for him. Our son obviously enjoys school and feedback from his teachers (and PG and N1/N2 teachers) have been equally pleasant. Haha – oh, our son joins the older kids on their after-school activities occasionally and teachers tell us they love him. Especially when it’s time for singing or dancing, HIS ULTIMATE FAVORITE! I guess he’s got the moves.. Wonder who he takes after? 😏

Friends have asked me if I have ever considered leaving the workforce and being a SAHM. My answer? A definite no.

Way before I wanted to get married, I have never seen myself as someone who can sit home, cook, clean, do chores, run errands, and all that jazz. No offence, for I think SAHMs are wonderful and, like my very own mother who quit her job at MOE to look after us, are most definitely superwomen. Amazing how they literally juggle mother-ing and wife-ing, in between cleaning and cooking at a cycle 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year! Moreover, my husband married me knowing I hate cooking, I can’t do laundry, I don’t like ironing or sweeping or mopping.. You know.

Alhamdulillah, he still married me and even agreed that if one of us were to stop working and stay at home to care for the household.. It would not be me. Oh, trust me you guys – he’d be more than happy to quit his job and be a house husband.

(He really loves cooking and cleaning!) 😍

But I reckon it’s because I have worked most of my life? I started working PT (in one of the best jobs ever at Escape Theme Park!) as soon as I finished school. So, it’s been 10 years that I first stepped into the workforce, and I’ve never looked back. Hence, no SAHM status for me ever, I guess?

If any of your readers have had the same kind of experiences, contemplating between Helper VS No Helper or have had a similar dilemma, please do drop me a PM. Or otherwise, I’m open to hear your thoughts too!

In other news, some readers have asked me if I’ve decided on my ID/Contractor. My answer is: YES, and I cannot wait to start on my renovation journey! It is going to be exciting, I bet – but there’s going to be a bit of paperwork involved, which will take time. And yes, I will continue my review on the other 2 contractors we met soon! Our reno-related posts in future will depict a detailed timeline of our renovation journey, with a lot of picture-heavy posts. I can’t wait!

In the meantime, may Allah continue to bless my family and I good health and wellbeing, in order to go through what the future brings us. ❤

Comment on this post

A Quaintrelle

Have you ever had too many thoughts and an overwhelming passion to write?

@jjulesazrin

From My Heart

myflairaffair

-"you don't have to like it, you just have to do it."

a quiet wander

of adventures and quiet moments

Tales of The Kraken

navigating marriage, motherhood, pregnancy, working from home, etc.

Laylaliyya

Life of Wife with Vaginismus, Now a Mother Alhamdulillah !

#thekahwinstory

When you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with a person, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.

Blessings and Tribulations

by Ameerah Sarpari

The Tudung Traveller

Stories of Travel, Life & Faith

Bride's Bites

Towards forever.

suaidahsalimblog

Always Syukr & Sabr in life!

SdZf.co

True love stories never have endings, it goes on

bumsyswirls

remembering moments ♥

Velvet Pop

by N.Qaiyimah

Sarcastic by Nature

Anticipate the worse before it'll hit you..